top of page

PITT RIVERS: EXPECTATION VS. REALITY

During my visit to the Natural History Museum and Pitt Rivers Museum, I couldn't help but think about the story we once read for class called, At the Pitt Rivers. "They've got this museum, called the Pitt-Rivers; I spend a lot of time there. It's a weird place, really weird, stuff from all over the world crammed into glass cases like some kind of mad junk-shop..." Once I actually stepped foot into the Pitt Rivers museum I had a better understanding of the narrator's point of view. Glass cases of different sizing fill up the whole museum and visitors must around them all to view the various objects. For first-time visitors like myself, one would almost think they were caught in a maze. There is not much space between the cases to walk around as there are in other museums, such as the Natural History Museum. The narrator also mentions that "it was a nice quiet place to mooch around and be on my own, Saturdays, or after school" and I can agree. The museum is located one level beneath the Natural History Museum and resembles the quietness of a library in contrast to that of its' partnering museum upstairs. It seems, however, like a peculiar place to write a poem, so it interests me that, along with the fascinating couple, he inspired by the Pitt Rivers as well. It doesn't strike me as the initial place to think of when wanting to write a poem.

Prior to observing the Pitt Rivers myself, I did not expect its' appearance to be what it was. I expected it to be quite larger and more spacious than it had been. I assumed it would be filled with plenty of visitors as well, but there were not many during the time that I went. most people were upstairs at the Natural history Museum. I also thought that there would be more paintings than artifacts, however, it did not bother me that there were not many. Based on my opinion, I do not usually find interest in going to museums. However, I did enjoy my time at the Natural History Museum a lot better than I did at the Pitt Rivers Museum. This is due to the Natural History Museum having artifacts that captivated my attention much more, such as the dinosaurs and birds. In general, I would visit the both the Natural History Museum and the Pitt Rivers Museum again, however, only if I had a friend who had not visited before.

Natural History Museum
Pitt Rivers Museum

Pitt Rivers Museum
Pitt Rivers Museum
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page