top of page

STONEHENGE: WAS IT WORTH IT?

Initially, before heading to Stonehenge, if someone were to ask me what exactly Stonehenge was, I would not have been able to provide them with an answer - or a correct one, to say the least. For example, I would not have been able to mention that Stonehenge is a monument made entirely of enormous blocks of stone located in the city of Salisbury, England. I also would have failed to mention that these stones were built between 4000 and 5000 years before our time. Lastly, I would not have even thought to include that there are a plethora of myths and theories about Stonehenge and the reason behind its' creation. Theories include that it has been recognized as a healing site as well as a burial site, since many skeletal bones were discovered near the area. The burial may have taken place in 3000 BC and those who were buried were possibly religious. another theory is that it was considered as an "act of unification" among the Neolithic people that brought it together. It is possible that a source of inspiration came from the winter solstice sunset which is visible at the site, allowing them to work together to move the stones to the location it continues to rest in today.

Of all the theories, I support the latter the most. This is because we traveled to Stonehenge when the sunset had just arrived, and I have to admit that it made a great impact on my experience while there. The scenery was absolutely stunning. I was captivated by the beautiful sunset, and found myself staring off into the evening sky more than the historical stones. When using the sticks provided by the tourist guide to track the energy of the stones, I was confused whether or not the sticks moved due to the fact that I was moving and not standing still or because it was windy outside. Needless to say, I was pretty skeptical of any "energy" located there. However, one piece of information I was intrigued by was that one of the stones marked "WREN", implying of architect Christopher Wren's presence at Stonehenge during his life.

Although I was aware of about England's chill weather, I can honestly say that I was not prepared for the brisk weather the day the St. Joseph's gang headed out to Stonehenge that Monday afternoon. Due to the frigid conditions, the pleasant experience could have been even more phenomenal if it weren't for the weather. Nonetheless, I enjoyed my time at Stonehenge.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page